Pre Race Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies-Vegan

I was listening to Ultra Runner Podcast’s interview with Michele Yates (Female Ultra Runner of the Year) today during my taper, and one of the questions peaked my interest.  Michele is also gluten intolerant (or celiac) and was talking about her pre and post race nutrition.  She mentioned that she makes a pumpkin cookie before her races, and it got me thinking…

I checked my cabinets which held all sorts of pumpkin-cookie like ingredients.  Her recipe can be found here, but I wanted to make more of an oatmeal cookie, so rather than use oat flour I used actual gluten free oats.

I am not a chef, or baker, I am a runner who likes to experiment with ingredients that are good for me, so this isn’t a sugary-sweet cookie, its more like a sweet bite sized bread.

I used:

1 whole overripe banana

2 Tablespoons of molassas

1 tsp of real maple syrup

3/4 can of organic pureed pumpkin

1 Tablespoon of coconut oil (melted first)

1 Tablespoon of whole flax meal (soaked in 3 Tablespoons of water, this is an egg substitute)

2 cups of gluten free oats

1 cup of Bob’s Red Mill AP baking flour

and a mixture of spices: ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice

I mashed the banana, added the molasses, maple syrup, soaked flax meal and melted coconut oil and stirred them together.

Then I mixed together the spices, oats, and flour.

Finally, I combined them all together in a bowl and mixed with a spoon until all the oats were covered.

I cook them for about 7-10 minutes at 350 degrees on a coconut oil greased pan. If you like them more dry cook longer, more chewy cook less.

As runners we all know bananas are good for us, they contain good source of Dietary Fiber, Vitamin C, Potassium and Manganese, and a very good source of Vitamin B6.  Oats have phosphorous, potassium, iron, and E, B and K vitamins, all in small amounts, but important for a runner. It also has quite a bit of fiber, so these are not “right before the race” cookies, unless you know that your stomach can handle fiber.  Speaking of fiber, there is quite a bit also in pumpkin, as well as vitamin A, C, and calcium and Iron.  Ginger has anti inflammatory properties, and cinnamon has been shown to regulate your blood sugar.  All and all these little bites of goodness pack quite a nutritional punch…ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

