Peanut Butter Oat-cakes..YUM!

The first day of spring was this week, but on Monday and Tuesday with an ice storm it felt like anything but spring outside.  Inside I was in the mood for some PANCAKES, but wanted to try something new.  I got online and started cruising around Google, I typed in vegan, I typed in pancakes…and I found Peanut Butter Flax seed Oat-cakes by the Minimalist Baker….sounds delicious.

Now to the kitchen to see if I had the essential ingredients needed.  I always have peanut butter, usually have flax meal, knew I had oats, but what else..

The recipe calls for

  • 1 vegan egg (which is just 1 tsp of flax meal soaked in 3 tsp of water)
  • 1 Tbsp Earth Balance, melted (I used coconut oil, melted)
  • ½ cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (I used unsweet Almond-coconut milk by Blue Diamond)
  • 1 Tbsp agave nectar (molassas is what I had on hand)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 Tbsp natural salted peanut butter (crunchy),
  • pinch salt
  • ½ tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup oat flour
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour (I am gluten free so I used some GF pancake mix I had instead)

Pretty easy, I combined the “wet” ingredients first, holding the vegan “egg” for last so it could gel.  As seen above, I substituted a few items here and there, partly for my taste, partly because it was what I had on hand.  I had to make my own oat flour in my food processor, but that was pretty easy.  They all came together in the bowl nicely, and then onto a hot skillet.  They were a bit runny and thin and I only had time for one before I had to go to work..but it was good!

I stashed the remaining batter in the fridge before I left for work, so when I came home I grabbed it.  While it was chilling in the fridge, waiting for me, it had thickened.  I reheated the skillet, and made nice fat pancakes.

I really wanted some bananas on top, so I took an overripe banana, added some maple syrup and melted them together over  low heat….ohh they were so darn good!  This will certainly become a regular on my menu!

Hope you enjoy, thanks Minimalist Baker!

 

 

 

Embedded image permalink

 

Leave a Reply

