Time off; a Mental Break

I have never been very good about taking time off from running, aside from injury I have probably gone 15 years with out a real break.  Now that I am trying to be a more serious and focused on running, I have noticed my brain has been craving a break.

I pushed hard through the summer, 30 mile training days at the beach..on vacation, on pavement that I am sure was well over 105 degrees, plus humidity that you could taste, over night running, focused and planned nutrition, yoga, active release, and other body therapies to keep me going…. I’m getting tired just thinking back over the last very active year.

So what’s an active cant-sit-still girl to do on her off season?  We’ll here’s what I have done so far.

Monday after the race it was cold and raining… again.  I slept in, foam rolled and went to work (walked dogs in the rain for 4 hours.)  I was tired and my nerves frayed at this point because I was just so DONE with the rain.  I had just run 25 hours in constant rain and water crossings…DONE! DONE with that rain!

Tuesday I was feeling a bit better and went on a long hike with my dog

Wednesday I was feeling great!  After work I washed all the floors, repainted the kitchen cabinets, reorganized the pantry, and painted the trim.  Then went for a long hike with the dog again.

Thursday I decided it was time for yoga and some easy strength training.  I noticed about mile 20 that my left glute wasn’t firing at all during Pinhoti, so it was time to wake it up!

Friday I was on the elliptical, 40 min and did some more core strength.

Saturday, was an hour on the Elliptical, yoga, and a long walk with the dog.  I meant to go on a bike ride, but it was too cold..its my off month..I can be a weather wimp! 🙂

Sunday, slept in after a really late night out with friends and then went for a two hour hike in the woods.

I have also put my fat adapting diet aside this past week.  I have been eating all the things I have been avoiding.  I seem to have a very pro-inflammatory body, so sugar, gluten and processed foods really make an impact on how I feel overall.  However, since there’s no structured training I made (and ate) pumpkin bread, pecan bars, chocolate truffles, a few bars of chocolate, lots of chips and guacamole, basically whatever sugar is laying around the house that I can get my hands on. Its great, though by Sunday I was starting to crave salad.

Its Tuesday of the second week and I’m kinda itching to run, even just a short jog around the trails, but I promised myself NO RUNNING FOR TWO WEEKS! The strength training already has my left gluten sore!  The elliptical and bike will have to suffice this week as well.  However, I do have my first run planned already.  An hour or so with friends on some pristine virginal trails out in Orange County. YAY!

 

Leave a Reply

